What Is Sclerology?

“Sclerology may be generally defined as the science of the markings in the whites of the eyes describing conditions of health. More precisely, it is the study of those markings and colourings in and on the sclera layers, as differentiated from the signs within the bulbar sclera conjunctiva membrane, which overlies the sclera.

The red lines and the other markings and colourings in the whites of the eyes actually correspond to real conditions within the body. Their size, shape, configuration, shading and various other aspects describe health qualities. And why not? There are many other maps to and of the body found on its surface. Sclerology is therefore a means of looking into a person’s eyes to see what is happening with his/her health, to get a sense of what is most pathologically important. It shows exactly where the highest stress and congestion are located in the bodily being, where such stress and congestion are coming from (origination cause), how much of the stress is emotional, how much physical, and how much both combined. In other words, Sclerology shows pathology.

Sclerology is a way of viewing inherited tendencies to weakness, and of seeing serious disease processes. It is a means of health evaluation that is accurate, and its basics are relatively easy to learn (although it has its degree of complexity). It has important tissue information on systemic pathology, and it can therefore be valuable to the healer/practitioner.”

– ‘Sclerology: A New View of an Ancient Art’, Leonard Mehlmauer, ND

Sclera Quadrants

& What They Represent

Upper Sclera Quadrants

The upper quadrants display the areas of the brain, higher functions, upper extremeties (such as hands, arms and shoulders) and cervical spine, emotional stomach, and vital force.

Lower Sclera Quadrants

The lower scerla quadrants display the body’s lower organs and associated functions (ie. digestive system – areas of colon), lower back and spinal nerves, hips, liver and gallbladder.

Medial Sclera Quadrants

The medial quadrants (inner sclera quadrant, closest to the cornia) display the mouth and neck, thyroid, upper and middle back, and some emtional areas, such as emotional heart.

Lateral Sclera Quadrants

The lateral quadrants (outside sclera quadrant, closest to temple), display structures and functions of the lower respiratory system (including lungs, bronchials, pleura), breasts, heart, hepatic arteries, and  thoracic-abdominal areas including spleen and liver.

The Seven Sheaths, Chakras & Stages of Human Life

An adaptation of data from spiritual texts by Grand Medicine.

  • Physical
  • Emotional/Sexual
  • Mental
  • Etheric
  • Psychic/Astral/Mystical
  • Causal
  • Spiritual/Transcendental
  • Muladar Chakra (perenium)
  • Svadistan Chakra (sex organs)
  • Manipur Chakra (naval area)
  • Anahat Chakra (heart)
  • Visuda Chakra (throat centre)
  • Ajna Chakra (pineal gland)
  • Sahasra Chakra (crown)
  • Individualisation
  • Socialisation
  • Integration
  • Devotion
  • Higher Spiritual Evolution
  • Conditional God Realisation
  • Divine Self-Realisation